We Drove All Night to Get to Here: RuPaul’s Stats Race-Blogging Drag Race Canada Just in Time for the Finale

BLACK LIVES MATTER!  I fully support the current protest movement to combat and dismantle the systemic racism that has devastated our country for centuries. Please review the following resources and donate, march, learn and be active. Www.Linktr.ee/nationalresourceslist   

What’s its name? The time has come for us to crown our first true north, strong and fierce (a truly awful replacement for the “Can I get an amen?” tagline) queen. Will it be Priyanka, Scarlett Bobo or Rita Baga?

I’m excited to finally give my opinion on Canada’s Drag Race’s first season. As we come to the end of the show, I have to say that I have enjoyed it overall. It had a charming group of drag queens, and my enjoyment of it grew over the season. That said, I definitely do not agree with the many people I have heard who say it reminds them of Drag Race UK. For me, Drag Race UK was evocative of early US Drag Race seasons in that it was raw and not as serious. At the same time, the queens and performances and outfits on Drag Race UK were of very high quality. I am obviously not an expert in practice myself and give all queens who go on TV the ultimate respect. Even so, I have to say that Drag Race Canada does not show the same level of quality as Drag Race UK. Perhaps it is partially because UK had Ru Paul and Michelle Visage as judges, but UK definitely felt like a more established show, whereas Drag Race Canada very much felt like a show in its first season that was still trying to find its place and its independent style. Facts are facts.

Speaking of the judges, this of course has been a huge hot issue for Drag Race fans. I agree with many in that I found Drag Race Canada’s judges very mean. I often found myself offended and siding with the queens when Stacey, Jonathon, and Brooke would provide their opinions. However, when I reflected on it, I realized that they were saying many of the same things as the US Drag Race judges and were just as random and arbitrary at times. I realized that the different is that the Canada judges had zero charisma or joy when they provided their feedback, whereas the US judges have it in ounces to spare.

However, particularly in our current wild time, I have found comfort in Drag Race Canada and fully want it to return a second season and beyond. Hot take- I really enjoyed Kyne as an entertaining villain and wish she had stayed around longer. Another notable queen who no longer is in the competition is Jimbo, who brought almost all the highlights of the runway this season, but had a kind of stiff and prickly attitude, especially for the queen who was filling the show’s archetype of the quirky one.

So, at this point we are down to our final 3. It is definitely a season where my chart fully doesn’t at all reflect the reality of the show.

Scarlett is leading the chart because she has been incredibly safe all season (but she truly has no sense of winning). Priyanka has fought for her spot all season and is the fan favorite. Rita has seemed like the odds on favorite but has lip-synced the last two episodes. See my predictions below!

QueenPredicted Placement

Scarlett Bobo
3rd

Rita Baga
Runner-Up

Priyanka

Winner

I have some major questions that impact who I pick for the winner of this season. Rita has seemed very much like the favorite, since she won so much earlier in the season. Her trajectory very much mirrors that of the Vivian on Drag Race UK (who of course went on to win). Yet, Rita has received a lot of backlash from fans each time she has won challenges on the show. On US Drag Race All Stars, it is well known to film multiple finales and decide based at partially on fan feedback who wins the season. Did they do the same for Drag Race Canada or is it already in the can? Finale, it important culturally to have a French-Canadian win the first season of Drag Race Canada for Canadians? Not to be crass, but I admit fully idk aboot that.

I am deciding to bank on them picking the fan favorite. And with good reason. Piryanka has been charming, hilarious, funny and smart all season. She provided us with the best lip-syncs of the season, and some truly amazing moments. I would be so happy if she won.

However, they could easily go the route of Drag Race UK style and give the crown to prescribed favorite Rita Baga. She was leading the chart for almost the whole season, and certainly established herself as a quality and professional queen. We will see shortly! 

 For season 2, I have some very important recommendations. The judges certainly lack charm as I mentioned before, beyond that they seem pretty straight forwardly to echo the judges of the first 2 seasons of US Drag Race. Meryl and Santino, who also definitely lacked charm or expertise. So, for season 2, I would priorities making Brooke the full-on Ru (enough of this guest host nonsense) and getting some additional funny judges who know a lot about drag. I’m ok with keeping Stacey and JBC if those changes are made. I overall haven’t enjoyed Stacy or JBC on the show, but definitely don’t think they deserve the intense hate they have gotten online (though JBC’s eye makeup is truly insane and a call for intervention). It’s not personal, it’s drag. Chill out and stop being so racist Drag Race fans.

Whoever wins, this season was fun and brought drag to use during a global pandemic which definitely isn’t nothing. Next week I have a fun truly random list for you. Until then- let the music play!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started