I Should’ve Been Mime Chyna: RuPaul’s Stats Race, Season 13, Episode 7

BLACK LIVES MATTER!  I fully support the ongoing movement to combat and dismantle the systemic racism that has devastated our country for centuries. Please review the following resources and donate, march, learn and be active. Www.Linktr.ee/nationalresourceslist   

THOTS

  • This challenge- it’s a no from me dawg. I didn’t find any of the skits particularly funny, though I did think Symone did the best job overall. The queens reenacting Maury in the werqroom was much funnier than the challenge.  Meanwhile, I could only go one bullet point without mentioning the undeniably catchy and fun song from Drag Race Uk’s challenge. One series is thriving. I’ll let you read between the lines which one it is.
  • Say what you will about Olivia (and I will-check out the next bullet point) but she played the game well this week. You got to get that role however you can.  
  • Not to be a hater but while I’m here- the judges kept praising Olivia for making something out of a role that could have been nothing. Ummmm no- the narrative of that whole skit (if you can call it that) revolved around the mime character. HOW did they not bring up that her wig looked INCREDIBLY similar to the one Kandy wore in the bag ball? Also where were the beads in her outfit? But other than that…

  • I was shocked by all the outcomes of this episode. Before the runway, I expected Symone to win, and that Lala would outperform Elliott in the lip-sync. I agreed that Elliott beat Lala from what we saw, and it was a fun one. Lala leaving was particularly surprising because we heard almost nothing about her this episode, while there was entire section on Elliott’s clinical depression (which I thought was well done). Usually revealing any personal details when you’re destined for the bottom means you’re gone. We will have to see where our lovely little basic double consonant diva goes from here!
  • Untucked is so weird. There is such an intense distinction between the queens getting consistently critiqued (Kandy, Symone, Olivia, Utica, Elliott) and those that are always safe (Tina, Rosé and Denali). Since we only see the safe queens for the first half of Untucked, it feels like a weird arthouse piece where we dive deep into the narratives of a show’s background characters.

CHART

  • Olivia moves into a tie for 1st with Symone. It could come down to who does better in the Rusical next week (Olivia would seem to have the edge but never count out Symone).
  • With perennial last place queen Lala out, Elliott and Utica are now tied for last place. Again- even though I haven’t trusted it, the chart’s pussy has been on fire this season: every queen in last place on the chart has gone home the next episode. Watch out ladies.  

  • Though Rosé and Tina also have been wildly consistent, if not standouts, it is Denali who currently has the longest safe streak, as she has been in that position for the last 3 episodes.
  • Kandy regains a point after being bottom 2 last week, which keeps her solidly in the middle of the pack.
  • Only 4 queens have won so far this season: Symone (won 2), Olivia (won 2), Denali and Gottmik. Will they be our final 4?

PREDICTIONS

  1. Gottmik (=)
  2. Symone (=)
  3. Olivia Lux (=)
  4. Rosé (+1)
  5. Kandy Muse (+1)
  6. Denali (-2)
  7. Tina Burner (+2)
  8. Elliiott with 2 Ts (+2)
  9. Utica (-2)
  10. Lala Ri (Preseason Prediction: 6th, Most Recent Pre-Elimination Prediction: 8th)
  11. Tamisha Iman (Preseason Prediction: 12th, Most Recent Pre-Elimination Prediction: 11th)
  12. Joey Jay (Preseason Prediction: 11th, Most Recent Pre-Elimination Prediction: 12th)
  13. Kahmora Hall (Preseason Prediction: 10th; Most Recent Pre-Elimination Prediction: 12th)

  • Wow I should’ve trusted what was right in front of me- the chart!  The chart said Lala, since she was in last place. Instead, I said Elliott was sashaying and thus, Lala is my most wrong prediction of the season so far: I4 spots off with my preseason prediction, and 2 spots off with last week’s prediction. Party

  • These predictions are getting harder, so I had to look a bit at last season’s schedule. We know next week is the Rusical, which I think Elliott could actually do well in. Utica on the other hand, I could easily quirk her way into trouble. Last season Snatch Game happened in episode 6, so I bet we will get it soon, at which point it would track for Elliott’s journey to finally end.

  • Tina and Denali both seem vulnerable at this point. I still think Denali will make it further into the season than Tina, but I took her out of the final 4. Tina could be a surprise exit in the next two episodes, but for now I have her outlasting Utica and Elliott before she meets her inevitable demise.
  • Olivia definitely seems bound for the final 4 along with Symone and Gottmik. I have Rosé as the 4th because though (like Tina and Denali) she’s been consistently safe and not rewarded of late, I think she could be bound for some wins soon (like in the Rusical). Though we’ll have to see if the producers can resist the cruel twist of denying Rosé the Rusical win just like the Jan who came before her.  

LIST

Runway Check In

Below I list my favorite runway outfit each queen has shown thus far. We’ll see at the end of the season which lewks hold up.

  • Kahmora Hall

A true runway star. We were deeply deprived by her not being present for the ball, as she easily had the best bag idea with this couture douche bag.

My favorite look she showed on the show was her sheer look, which she paired with insanely voluptuous and humongous hair.

  • Joey Jay

How to solve a problem like Joey Jay on the runway? Readers know how much I adored the dumbest filler queen we’ve ever met, but a runway star she is not. Her daytime look for the runway show challenge was clean and inoffensive, which makes it her best.

  • Tamisha Iman

All of her outfits in the losing groups 1st episode were great, but her sheer look was my favorite.

  • Lala Ri

Her bag construction of course.

Kidding. I don’t know that it necessarily gives executive realness, but I ADORE this look from the ball episode. This pretty print dress really highlights that stunning beauty that Lala is.

  • Utica

This outstanding dress constructed from a sleeping bag definitely should have secured the win in the ball episode for Utica and is without a doubt her best look.

  • Elliott with 2 Ts

The gift bag look gives me very peak Elliott: incredibly basic but well done.

However, the constructed look from the ball was her coolest and best look so far.

  • Tina Burner

Picking Tina’s best runway is an exercise is picking the lesser of great evils. But if I must pick one, I chose her executive look.

Did India Ferrah do it better? Of course.

  • Denali

Her train look was fun and vibrant.  

  • Kandy Muse

Her executive look gave me all the Rihanna I needed, but my favorite look of hers is this clean and sexy magic bag look.

  • Rosé

She’s had some great runways, but my favorite is still her very first one- this fantastic day look from the runway challenge.

  • Olivia Lux

NOT the bead look, or the little black dress look from either of her wins. I loved the shiny and sexy look she constructed from bags in the ball.

  • Symone

How do you pick just one? She is my favorite runway girl of the season by far. The durag train look is thoroughly amazing but is slightly outdone by her bead look for me. I’ve included both because our eyes deserve a feast. She’s just incredible.

  • Gottmik

She’s had so many great looks, but my favorite is definitely the little black dress. No words needed- it’s outstanding.

The Lala Ri experience was truly a pleasure, and I hope we will see more of her beautiful face in the future! With that, my dears, let the music play!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started